New Caveman Album + Hear New Single “In the City”

12 Jacket (3mm Spine) [GDOB-30H3-007}
Need more awesome? Listen to our FAVORITE SONGS OF 2014. Make sure you don't miss any tunes: FOLLOW US ON TWITTER.

It’s been a while since we heard from the hyper-percussive Brooklyn quintet Caveman, but they’re back with news of a second, self-titled record and this great new single, “In the City.” Frontman Matthew Iwanusa’s powerful pipes preside over a synth-heavy soundscape that reminds us of the better stuff on Bear in Heaven’s I Love You, It’s Cool; that combined with the band’s characteristic heavy drums practically transports you to the streets of your home city on a cloudy day. We love that lilting, distorted afropop guitar that kicks in toward the end of the track – it sounds like the sun coming out. The record’s out April 2.

Caveman Tracklist:
01. Strange to Suffer
02. In the City
03. Shut You Down
04. Where’s the Time
05. Chances
06. Over My Head
07. Ankles
08. Pricey
09. I See You
10. I Never Want to Know
11. The Big

The band has also announced a lengthy winter/spring tour leading up to the album’s release. Check out the dates below-

Caveman Tour dates:
Tue, Feb 26 – New Haven, CT @ Café Nine
Wed, Feb 27 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair

Thu, Feb 28 – Montreal, QC @ Casa Del Popolo
Fri, Mar 01 – Toronto, ON @ Lee’s Palace

Sat, Mar 02 – Detroit, MI @ Garden Bowl

Mon, Mar 04 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop
Tue, Mar 05 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas
Wed, Mar 06 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry
Thu, Mar 07 – Kansas City, MO @ Record Bar
Fri, Mar 08 – St. Louis, MO @ Old Rock House

Sat, Mar 09 – Oxford, MS @ Lamar Lounge

Mon, Mar 11 – New Orleans, LA @ Hi Ho Lounge
Tue, Mar 12-17 – Austin, TX @ SXSW (details TBD)

Mon, Mar 18 – Albuquerque, NM @ Low Spirits

Tue, Mar 19 – Denver, Co @ Larimer Lounge

Wed, Mar 20 – Salt Lake City, UK @ Urban Lounge

Fri, Mar 22 – Las Vegas, NV @ Beauty Bar

Sat, Mar 23 – Visalia, CA @ The Cellar Door

Sun, Mar 24 – Sacramento, CA @ Blue Lamp
Tue, Mar 26 – San Francisco, CA @ The Independent

Thu, Mar 28 – Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour

Fri, Mar 29 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah

Sat, Mar 30 – Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress

Mon, Apr 01 – Austin, TX @ The Parish

Tue, Apr 02 – Denton, TX @ Dan’s Silverleaf
Thu, Apr 04 – Birmingham, AL @ The Bottletree

Fri, Apr 05 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt

Sat, Apr 06 – Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn

Sun, Apr 07 – Chapel Hill, NC @ Local 506
Tue, Apr 09 – Washington, DC @ Black Cat Backstage
Wed, Apr 10 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall

Thu, Apr 11 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s

What did you think?
 16  10  3  1
Run the Jewels RTJ 2
MP3

The duo have just released their album a few days early…for free!

Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper
Music

Releases single “Mr Noah” and Mr Noah EP.

les sins michael
Music

Our latest house-inflected taste from Toro Y Moi’s dance alter-ego.

beverly yale
Videos

One of our favorite songs from Careers gets a video.

chvrches under the tide
Videos

Check out an appropriately futuristic clip for the Bones of What You Believe track.

jessie ware j cole
Music

J. Cole hops on a Tough Love highlight.

Capture
Videos

Watch the official video for the massive single from The London Sessions

FATCD132_cover_hi-res_1440x1440px-608x608
Music

Stream the Scottish rock band’s latest LP

500_1414039227_touchthesky_70
Music

From Cam’s latest First of the Month series