New Beirut - La Llorona


"La Llorona" will be the first single from Beirut's new EP March Of The Zapotec. Stereogum premiered the video yesterday:

A while ago we mentioned that Zach Condon headed to Oaxaca, Mexico — the weaver village of Teotitlan del Valle to be exact — and hooked up with the 19-piece Jimenez Band band, who helped him get the sounds he needed for his March Of The Zapotec EP. Condon plans to release some short films documenting the experience, but in the Owen Cook-animated video for standout "La Llorna" he stayed home and wrote a narrative about a little dog, a mourner, the band, a Mexican graveyard, and a puddle of tears (or, well, rain). It helps to know that "La Llorona"'s "the weeping woman" in Spanish and relates to a legend about a woman who killed her children then herself after she was rejected by a man. She spends her time as a weeping ghost, wandering in search of the kids.

But now, we have the mp3 on on our hands. Catch the MP3 and the EP Tracklist after the jump.

Beirut - La Llorona

Disc: 1
1. El Zocalo
2. Beirut - La Llorona [alt link]
3. My Wife
4. The Akara
5. On a Bayonet
6. The Shrew
Disc: 2
1. My Night with the Prostitute from Marseille
2. My Wife, Lost in the Wild
3. Venice
4. The Concubine
5. No Dice

March Of The Zapotec/Holland is out 2/17 via Condon's Pompeii Records/Ba Da Bing. Both will be available on vinyl via Obey Your Brain.