Download Nicolas Jaar's New Album, Pomegranates

Publish date:

Earlier this year, Nicolas Jaar shared an alternate soundtrack to the 1969 Soviet film The Colour of Pomegranates. On Thursday night he released the 20-song soundtrack as an album for free. 

The album download comes with a note from Jaar, contextualizing the creation and release of the album. 

Jaar writes:

At the beginning of 2015 my friend Milo heard some of these songs and told me about the film. I watched it and was dumbfounded. I felt the aesthetic made complete sense with the strange themes I had been obsessed with over the past couple of years. I was curious to see what my songs sounded like when synced with the images, which turned into a 2-day bender where I soundtracked the entire film, creating a weird collage of the ambient music I had made over the last 2 years.

The film gave me a structure to follow and themes to stick to.It gave clarity to this music that was made mostly out of and through chaos. It also gave me the balls to put it out... I wanted to do some screenings but the guy who owns the rights to the film only wants the original version of the movie out there. I can't blame him, I'm sure Paradjanov wouldn't want some kid in NY pissing all over his masterpiece and calling it a soundtrack! I've listened to it a couple of times without watching the movie and I think it stands on its own. Or at least I hope it can! 

2015 has been an uncommonly prolific year for Jaar.  Pomegranates comes after this sprin’s gorgeous Nymphs II EP. And yet another EP, Nymphs III, is due out in just a few days (June 29).

Download Pomegranates via a tweet from Nicolas Jaar—

Nicolas Jaar, Pomegranates:

01 Garden of Eden
02 Construction
03 Pass the Time
04 Survival
05 The Fool and His Harem
06 Nothingness
07 Near Death
08 Beasts of This Earth
09 Fall Into Time
10 Folie à deux
11 Screams at the Edge of Dawn
12 Divorce
13 Three Windows
14 Tourists
15 Shame
16 Tower of Sin
17 Club Kapital
18 Volver
19 Spirit
20 Muse