Dan Deacon: New EP of "Sad Songs" Coming


Through his Facebook page, Dan Deacon announced that he will be self-releasing a new EP full of "sad songs". Pitchfork followed up with Deacon and his vague announcement and got a tracklist out of him (below) and found out that "the only instruments on the EP will be an electric console organ and Deacon's own untreated voice."

In an email to the 'Fork, Deacon wrote: "I've been wanting to release a record like this for some time and my current breakup has been the perfect catalyst to motivate me to finally do it... Unlike my other releases, this music will be much more low key, sparse, and I find the songs to be sad, although others might disagree."

No word yet on a title or release date. We do have, however, the tracklist:

That's Not My Own Face
So Long Old Friend
Stegosaurus One Eye
Past You
All I Have to Do Is Dream (Everly Brothers cover)