Destroyer Announce New LP Poison Season, Shares “Dream Lover”

Publish date:

Dan Bejar’s Destroyer has announced a new album called Poison Season, to be released in August. It will be his first album since 2011’s stunning Kaputt

According to the press release, “Poison Season opens with Vancouver native Dan Bejar swathed in Hunky Dory strings. He's a dashboard Bowie surveying four wracked characters — Jesus, Jacob, Judy, Jack — simultaneously Biblical and musical theatre.” And that the record “often appears to take sonic cues from a distinctly British (usually Scottish, to be precise) strain of sophisti-pop: you might hear traces of Aztec Camera, Prefab Sprout, Orange Juice, or The Blow Monkeys. These songs merge a casual literary brilliance within intense melodic verve, nimble arrangements, and a certain blue-eyed-soul sadness.”

The album is anchored by the quasi-title track “Times Square, Poison Season”, a song Bejar recorded with a live quintet to open and close the record. He then recorded it in a Springsteen/Bowie-esque “street-rock” style to serve as the album’s centerpiece (“Times Square”).

The album is out on August 28. You can pre-order the LP, CD, or digital album here.  Check out the tracklist below and listen to the album’s first single, “Dream Lover”, below:

Poison Season Tracklist:
01 Times Square, Poison Season
02 Dream Lover
03 Forces From Above
04 Hell
05 The River
06 Girl in a Sling
07 Times Square
08 Archer on the Beach
09 Midnight Meet the Rain
10 Solace’s Bride
11 Bangkok
12 Sun in the Sky
13 Times Square, Poison Season II