LCD Soundsystem Release New Album, La La Land

The band is premiering the LP in full at Coachella
Publish date:
Updated on
La La Land Back.jpg

The reunited LCD Soundsystem have released La La Land, their surprise new album—the first album since 2010’s excellent This is Happening; also the first since calling it quits after a Madison Square Garden show in 2011. La La Land is the group’s fourth LP since 2005, when James Murphy and co. emerged from the ether with the eponymous LCD Soundsystem. The album will be premiered live in full during the band’s headlining Coachella set on Friday, April 15. The performance will be broadcast live on YouTube.

The album is set for digital and physical release on April 15, just hours before their Coachella set. However, the album is streaming now exclusively on the recently launched SoundCloud Go. *cue sad trombone* 

La La Land marks a significant and somewhat shocking thematic departure for the band—it’s an L.A. record. According to a press release, the album is “inspired by aspects of the underground rock sound coming out of the Sunset Strip in the late ‘60s.” Sons of Adam, Love, Penny Arkade, and The Electric Prunes were mentioned as keystone influences on Murphy while recording this album.

A New Yorker through and through, James Murphy has enlisted a slate of Los Angeles music royalty to add some local flavor to La La Land. Seriously, this list of collaborators is stacked: Don Henley (The Eagles), Flea (Red Hot Chili Peppers), Courtney Love (Hole), Kirk Hammett (Metallica), Zack de la Rocha (Rage Against the Machine), Maynard James Keenan (Tool), and the whole Black Hippy crew all appear on La La Land’s tracklist. 

La La Land Cover.jpg

LCD Soundsystem, La La Land:

  1. You Movin’ (feat. Flea)
  2. You’ll Be Following 
  3. One Too Many Mornings (feat. Courtney Love)
  4. The People in Me (feat. Kirk Hammett)
  5. Swim 
  6. Hideaway (feat. Zack de la Rocha)
  7. Acid Head (feat. Kendrick Lamar, Schoolboy Q, Ab-Soul, Jay Rock)
  8. Montage Mirror
  9. Daydreaming 
  10. Saturday’s Son (feat. Maynard James Keenan)
  11. Our Time is Running Out
  12. Los Angeles (feat. Don Henley)
  13. Come Down 
La La Land Front.jpg