New Music: Foo Fighters, Hercules & Love Affair, Sharon Van Etten, Shabazz Palaces, Shlohmo, REM/Sleater-Kinney offshoot

Publish date:

First and foremost, RIP PRODIGY.

Foo Fighters have announced their new album, Concrete and Gold, their first since 2014’s Sonic Highways. It’s out in September. The album was produced with Greg Kurstin, who recently took home the Grammy for Album, Record, and Song of the Year for Adele’s 25 and “Hello”. He also co-wrote and co-produced Sia’s “Chandelier” and Kelly Clarkson’s “Stronger”. The band has described their work with Kurstin as “Motorhead’s version of Sgt. Pepper’s… or something like that.” Sounds about right! 

Concrete and Gold by Foo Fighters:

1. T-Shirt
2. Run
3. Make It Right
4. The Sky Is A Neighborhood
5. La Dee Da
6. Dirty Water
7. Arrows
8. Happy Ever After (Zero Hour)
9. Sunday Rain
10. The Line
11. Concrete and Gold

Hercules & Love Affair and Sharon Van Etten on the same track — file this one under unlikely musical OTP of the day. It’s not quite “Blind”, but this is the most interesting H&LA have sounded in years. “Omnion” is the first single to a Andy Butler & co’s new album. The album’s release date is yet to be announced.

Shabazz Palaces drop another track from Quazarz: Born on a Gangster Star, one of two concept albums they’ll release on July 14. 

New summertime mixtape from Shlohmo, featuring remixes of Young Thug, Future, Migos, Rae Sremmurd, Mobb Deep. It comes with instructions from the artist: “Put it on the big screen at the BBQ. Put it on the radio while you driving with tacos on your lap. Put it on your phone while you sleepin under that tree. Big heat wave lounge style music with a plate and a red cup in hand. This one’s for ‘tha summer.’”

For Tha Summer (Vol. XXVII) by Shlohmo:

1. Young Thug – Stoner (Shlohmo Remix)
2. Future – Mask Off (Shlohmo Remix)
3. Rae Sremmurd – Black Beatles (Shlohmo Remix)
4. Soulja Boy – Crank Dat (Shlohmo Remix)
5. Mobb Deep – Shook Ones (Shlohmo Remix)
6. 21 Savage – X (Shlohmo Remix)
7. Migos – T Shirt (Shlohmo Remix)

Sleater-Kinney’s Corin Tucker and R.E.M.‘s Peter Buck are in a new band called Filthy Friends. Listen to “The Arrival”, the new single from their debut, Invitation. The LP is out August 25.