New Music: Lykke Li, Vince Staples, SZA & Kendrick, Manchester Orchestra, D.R.A.M., DJ Khaled

Publish date:

Lykke Li’s band LIV has shared a new single, “Heaven”. The group features members of Miike Snow and Peter, Bjorn and John as well as influential Kanye producer Jeff Bhasker. Previously they shared “Dream Awake” and “Wings of Love”. A long-form release has yet to be announced.

Vince Staples shares a third track from Big Fish Theory, a hypnotic Ty Dolla Sign collaboration called “Rain Come Down”. Staples’ Summertime ‘06 followup is out June 23. Revisit “BagBak” and “Big Fish”

SZA’s excellent new album CTRL is out today. It features Kendrick Lamar on “Doves in the Wind”. Our very own Mick Jacobs calls CTRL “a much-needed character overhaul” where “the side-chick goes from static supporting character to full-blown protagonist.”

Manchester Orchestra have announced their first album since 2014’s Cope. A Black Mile to the Surface is out July 28. The album was produced by Catherine Marks (PJ Harvey, The Killers) and John Congleton (St. Vincent, Angel Olsen). The band’s shared the album’s first single, “The Gold”. Scroll down for the album art and tracklist.


A Black Mile to the Surface by Manchester Orchestra:

01 The Maze
02 The Gold
03 The Moth
04 Lead, SD
05 The Allen
06 The Sunshine
07 The Grocery
08 The Wolf
09 The Mistake
10 The Parts
11 The Silence

D.R.A.M. has shared a pair of new tracks, “The Uber Song” and “Group Thang (DEMO)”. These songs follow the ASAP Rocky and Juicy J collaboration “Gilligan”. The artist’s debut, Big Baby D.R.A.M., came out last year.

Finally, DJ Khaled has shared the tracklist to what might just qualify as the definitive pop double album of our time. His gargantuan 23-song tracklist for Grateful reads like a who’s who of the last three to five years. Everyone shows up: Beyoncé, Rihanna, Chance, Drake, Nicki, Jay, Bieber, Migos, Future, Thugger, Jeremih, Calvin, Travis, Wayne... it goes on. Grateful is out June 23.