New Music: The National, Arcade Fire, The Killers, Dej Loaf, Princess Nokia, Deerhoof

Publish date:

The National will finally return on September 8 with their excellently titled new album Sleep Well Beast. After releasing its first single last month, “The System Only Dreams in Total Darkness”, the band has shared a painfully short (nine second) teaser of the album’s next single, “Guilty Party”.

Speaking of short teasers, here’s another one from Arcade Fire. “Signs of Life” is the new single from Everything Now—the third one so far after the title track and “Creature Comfort”—and it’ll be out this Friday, June 30. 

Brandon Flowers does his best douchebag in the new video for “The Man” from The Killers. Their new album, Wonderful Wonderful, is out later this autumn.  

Detroit MC Dej Loaf has released a video for “No Fear”, the lead single from her debut album, Liberated.

New York upstart Princess Nokia celebrates recently signing to Rough Trade with new track “G.O.A.T.” Last year, Princess Nokia made waves with her 1992 mixtape, which seems to have been removed from her website. 

Deerhoof has announced a new album Mountain Moves. It’s out September 8. They’ve also released the album’s first single “I Will Spite Survive” featuring Wye Oak’s Jenn Wasner.

Mountain Moves by Deerhoof:

01 Slow Motion Detonation [ft. Juana Molina]
02 Con Sordino
03 I Will Spite Survive [ft. Jenn Wasner]
04 Come Down Here and Say That [ft. Lætitia Sadier]
05 Gracias a la Vida (Violeta Parra cover)
06 Begin Countdown
07 Your Dystopic Creation Doesn't Fear You [ft. Awkwafina]
08 Ay That's Me
09 Palace of the Governors
10 Singalong Junk [ft. Xenia Rubinos]
11 Mountain Moves [ft. Matana Roberts]
12 Freedom Highway (The Staple Singers cover)
13 Sea Moves [ft. Chad Popple & Devin Hoff]
14 Kokoye
15 Small Axe (Bob Marley cover)