New Music: Zola Jesus, Death From Above, Alvvays, Avey Tare, Sheer Mag, Torres

New songs from Death From Above (no 1979), Alvvays, Sheer Mag, and Torres
Publish date:

Zola Jesus is back with “Exhumed” from her new album, Okovi (the title is a Slavic word for “shackles”). It’s out September 8. The LP is her first since 2014’s Taiga. Pre-order it here.

Zola Jesus, Okovi:
01 Doma
02 Exhumed
03 Soak
04 Ash to Bone
05 Witness
06 Siphon
07 Veka
08 Wiseblood
09 NMO
10 Remains
11 Half Life

Death From Above (drop the 1979) return with a new track “Freeze Me”. They promise “it will not be 10 years” before their next album. Listen to the new song here. Streaming above is the video for “White is Red” from their 2014 album, The Physical World

Alvvways have announced the follow-up to their bright and lovable 2014 debut. The new album, Antisocialites, is out September 8. Pre-order here.

Alvvays, Antisocialites:
01 In Undertow
02 Dreams Tonite
03 Plimsoll Punks
04 Your Type
05 Not My Baby
06 Hey
07 Lollipop (Ode to Jim)
08 Already Gone
09 Saved by a Waif
10 Forget About Life

Avey Tare Eucalyptus cover

Animal Collective’s Avey Tare has announced a 15-track LP called Eucalyptus. It’s his first album apart from AnCo since 2014’s Enter the Slasher House with his band Avey Tare’s Slasher Flicks. Last year Animal Collective released an album called Painting With. Eucalyptus is out July 21.

Avey Tare, Eucalyptus:
01 Season High
02 Melody Unfair
03 Ms. Secret
04 Lunch Out of Order Pt. 1
05 Lunch Out of Order Pt. 2
06 Jackson 5
07 DR aw one for J
08 PJ
09 In Pieces
10 Selection of a Place
11 Boat Race
12 Roamer
13 Coral Lords
14 Sports In July
15 When You Left Me

Sheer Mag have shared a new single “Need to Feel Your Love”, the title track to their upcoming debut LP (July 14). Last month they shared “Just Can’t Get Enough” (stream it above). Catch them on tour this fall.

Torres returns with a new song “Skim”, and a new video directed by Ashley Connor. Connor is best known for her striking work on Angel Olsen’s “Shut Up Kiss Me” Jenny Hval’s “That Battle Is Over”, and Mitski’s “Your Best American Girl”. She continues to conjure stirring images soundtracked by the most vital female songwriters of the time.