Speedy Ortiz Announce New LP, Foil Deer

The indie rockers will release their more polished new album in April.
Speedy Ortiz Foil Deer

Disciples of Liz Phair, Northampton, Massachusetts' very own Speedy Ortiz have announced their sophomore album, Foil Deer. It's due out April 21st via Carpark Records. Of the songwriting process, frontwoman Sadie Dupuis says that “listening to our old records, I get the sense I was putting myself in horrible situations just to write sad songs. This music isn’t coming from a dark place, and without slipping into self-empowerment jargon, it feels stronger.” Turns out the new album also feels more polished, due to better equipment and more studio time (a month, compared to the "couple days" they spent in the studio recording Major Arcana); Dupuis describes Foil Deer as "light-footed fun."

Unfortunately the announcement didn't come with any new music attached to it, so keep an eye out for that in the coming weeks. But you can check out the artwork (above), the tracklist and a Michael DeForge comic strip below:

Speedy Ortiz, Foil Deer:
01 Good Neck
02 Raising The Skate
03 The Graduates
04 Dot X
05 Homonovus
06 Puffer
07 Swell Content
08 Zig
09 My Dead Girl
10 Ginger
11 Mister Difficult
12 Dvrk Wvrld