Sufjan Stevens Announces Carrie & Lowell

It's being billed as a return to his folk roots.

We're always wondering what Sufjan Stevens is up to besides posting memes on Tumblr, and now we've got a fairly concrete answer - he's just announced he's prepping a new album, Carrie & Lowell, which will be out March 31st. Named after his mom and stepfather, it deals with themes like "life and death, love and loss" - and it's also being billed as a return to Sufjan's "folk roots." We do always love when Sufjan throws us a crazy curveball and we have been hoping for a while he'd make a record in the vein of "In the Words of the Governor," but we're still excited to hear what he's got up his sleeve. Check out a trailer for the album below, then peruse the tracklist.

Sufjan Stevens, Carrie & Lowell:
01. Death With Dignity
02. Should Have Known Better
03. All of Me Wants All of You
04. Drawn to the Blood
05. Fourth of July
06. The Only Thing
07. Carrie & Lowell
08. Eugene
09. John My Beloved
10. No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross
11. Blue Bucket of Gold