The Libertines Announce New Album, Anthems for Doomed Youth

12 new songs from Pete Doherty and the boys, arriving over 11 years after their last set
Publish date:
libertines anthems for doomed youth.jpg

The Libertines have announced their third album, Anthems for Doomed Youth—though, the album’s artwork suggests that they album may have been called Hallelujah Day at some point. The new 12-song effort will be the band’s first album since 2004’s very well-received self-titled LP. The new album is out September 4 on Harvest. Its first single will be “Gunga Din”, though its release date is still forthcoming. 

“Anthems for Doomed Youth” and “Gunga Din” are both literary references—they’re named after poems by Wilfred Owen and Rudyard Kipling, respectively.

Check out the tracklist for the album below and watch the band play “Gunga Din” live:

The Libertines, Anthems for Doomed Youth:

01 Barbarians
02 Gunga Din
03 Fame and Fortune
04 Anthem for Doomed Youth
05 Heart of the Matter
06 Belly of the Beast
07 Iceman
08 You're My Waterloo
09 Fury of Chonburi
10 The Milkman's Horse
11 Glasgow Coma Scale Blues
12 Dead for Love