U2 One-Up Beyoncé, Release New Album for Free on iTunes

The band out of the blue performed a new song and announced Songs of Innocence at the Apple Event in California

If you've been on Facebook within the last few hours, you'll notice that at today's Apple Event in Cupertino, California, the company finally revealed the new line of iPhone with iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus. At the end of the event, U2 appeared as a special guest and performed a new song, “The Miracle (Of Joey Ramone)”. Then, out of the blue, they pulled a Beyoncé and not only announced that their brand new album, Songs of Innocence, would be released today via iTunes, but that it would be released today for free. Every iTunes customer, from now until October 13, has received a download of the album—all 500 million of them—making this the widest release in the history of music, by a massive margin. To compare, the world's best-selling album, Michael Jackson's Thriller, has sold an estimated 65 million copies. Another comparison, albums on Spotify are accessible by some 40 million users.

The album, we've learned, was primarily produced by Danger Mouse; open up iTunes and find the album waiting for you, if not, head to the iTunes Store to grab the album.

U2, Songs of Innocence:
01 "The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)"

02 "Every Breaking Wave"
03 "California (There is No End to Love)"

04 "Song for Someone"

05 "Iris (Hold Me Close)"
06 "Volcano"
07 "Raised by Wolves"
08 "Cedarwood Road"
09 "Sleep Like a Baby Tonight"
10 "This Is Where You Can Reach Me Now"
11 "The Troubles"