Album Stream: Lady Gaga - ARTPOP


Lady Gaga's hyper-stimulating, exhausting, exhilarating, confusing and ultimately immensely enjoyable third LP, ARTPOP is streaming now on iTunes a week ahead of Interscope's November 11 release date.

It's a fairly coherent and consistent listen with only one truly cringe-worthy moment - the strip club rap jam "Jewels N' Drugs" with T.I., Too $hort and Twista, so skip that if you can. The LP's highest highs include three sets of three; the opening one, two, three knockout of "Aura," "Venus" and "G.U.Y." ("Venus" is a serious contender for dance track of the year), album centerpieces "Do What U Want" (featuring R. Kelly), "Artpop" and "Swine", and finally the astonishing final three-song stretch of "Dope," "Gypsy" and first single "Applause." We're not calling the album's other six tracks filler, but we're not not saying that either.

Here is ARTPOP showstopper "Dope":

Lady Gaga - ARTPOP Tracklist:
01 Aura
02 Venus
03 G.U.Y. (Girl Under You)
04 Sexxx Dreams
05 Jewels N’ Drugs feat. T.I., Too Short, and Twista
06 Manicure
07 Do What U Want feat. R. Kelly
08 Artpop
09 Swine
10 Donatella
11 Fashion!
12 Mary Jane Holland
13 Dope
14 Gypsy
15 Applause