Album Stream: The Weeknd - Kiss Land


Abel Tesfaye aka The Weeknd's debut album, Kiss Land has arrived over a week early, courtesy of NPR's Firs Listen. The LP follows up The Weeknd's three excellent 2011 mixtapes, House of Balloons, Thursday and Echoes of Silence, which were re-packaged and commercially released last year as Trilogy (the previously free set was recently certified platinum, denoting shipment of one million copies - did we mention this used to be free?).

In recent interviews Tesfaye maintains that he considers Kiss Land his proper debut, and those his staggering 2011 output were merely mixtapes, a launchpad for his career. He has also mentioned that much of Kiss Land plays out like a horror story, being inspired by filmmakers "like John Carpenter, David Cronenberg, and Ridley Scott, because they know how to capture fear. That’s what Kiss Land is to me, an environment that’s just honest fear. I don’t know who I am right now and I’m doing all these outlandish things in these settings that I’m not familiar with. To me, it’s the most terrifying thing ever."

Kiss Land:
01 Professional
02 The Town
03 Adaptation
04 Love in the Sky
05 Belong to the World
06 Live For (ft. Drake)
07 Wanderlust
08 Kiss Land
09 Pretty
10 Tears in the Rain
11 Wanderlust (Pharrell Remix)
12 Odd Look (Kavinsky ft. the Weeknd)