Listen: Hot Chip's Alexis Taylor - "Elvis Has Left the Building"

Alexis Taylor

Album announcement week continues with news from Hot Chip frontman Alexis Taylor - he'll release his first solo LP in six years, Await Barbarians, this June via Domino. The announcement comes with a lead single, "Elvis Has Left the Building," one of eleven songs Taylor played and recorded entirely by himself (except, apparently, for strings) - it's a slow-burning underworld waltz of a song whose lyrics follow a couple of figures pop-cultural and personal as they slowly drift out of frame. You can watch a very old-school lyric video as well and peruse the tracklist below while you listen. Pick up Await Barbarians in a record store June 10.

Alexis Taylor, Await Barbarians:
01 From The Halfway Line
02 Without A Crutch (2)
03 Immune System
04 Dolly and Porter
05 Closer To The Elderly
06 Elvis Has Left The Building
07 Piano Ducks
08 New Hours
09 Where Would I Be?
10 Am I Not A Soldier?
11 Without A Crutch (1)