Beyonce - "1+1" / "End of Time" / "Best Thing I Never Had"


Welcome to ‘Beyonce Week’ – which will eventually lead to ‘Beyonce Month’ – which will quickly be followed by ‘Beyonce’s Year’.

For those of you who are American Idol addicts, surely you caught her performing her newest Sam Cooke-indebted ballad, “1+1” at last week’s finale hosted at the Nokia Theatre in LA. Reportedly this will be the opening track from her new album 4 – set to drop June 28.

Mrs. Carter professes her undying love to Jay while beautifully singing over Prince-esque guitar dripped melodies. Although the song doesn’t evoke the type of sincerity that “Dangerously in Love” did (the title track from her debut solo album), nonetheless this is still an impressive ballad from R&B’s music queen.

Beyonce - "1+1"

After Jay-Z leaked the video of Beyonce rehearsing back stage at American Idol, it was pretty much solidified that her singing skills are top notch. But just in case there are still some non-believers out there, a new track has been leaked called “End Of Time”, and surely this song will set off a wave of chills and goosebumps the minute the opening vocals are heard.

The Diplo produced track showcases how Beyonce still likes marching to the beat of her own drums - literally. “End Of Time” is drenched in drum percussion – as well as horns, lovesick lyrics and even a sample of Jai Paul’s “BTSU” – which was recently snatched up by Drake as well. And after receiving a heavy dose of backlash from her ‘unrealistic’ first single, “Run The World (Girls)” surely this will put Mrs. Carter back in good standings with her many, many pop fans.

Beyonce - "End of Time"

The latest Beyonce track to be released and official second single, “Best Thing I Never Had,” sees the singer reach out to R&B Icon Babyface to help pen the lyrics.

The song is centered on a relationship (pre Jay-Z, presumably) that went totally wrong. At least that’s what one would gathered after hearing her belt out lyrics like, "There was a time when I almost loved you/You showed your ass, and I saw the real you”.

As we previously mentioned, Beyonce is without a doubt a very strong vocalist, but this particular track may be more appreciated by her die-hard fans. But even those who don’t fall under this category, may still find their ears melting at the sound of her voice. Peep it out.

Beyonce - "Best Thing I Never Had"

4 is out June 28 and will feature Andre 3000 on a track called "Party." Check out the tracklist below:

4 Tracklist:
1. 1+1
2. I Care
3. I Miss You
4. Best Thing I Never Had
5. Party Ft. Andre 3000
6. Rather Die Young
7. Start Over
8. Love On Top
9. Countdown
10. End Of Time
11. I Was Here
12. Run The World (Girls)