Donald Glover announces new Childish Gambino album, Awaken, My Love! Listen to “Me and Your Mama”

The new album arrive next month
Publish date:

Of course the new Childish Gambino album comes with a song called “Me and Your Mama”. 

Let’s back up, though. Donald Glover, who is coming off a big acting year—his FX show Atlanta, one of the best-reviewed of the season, was awarded a second season and he landed the iconic role of Lando Calrissian in an upcoming Star Wars film—isn’t leaving music behind. His new album, Awaken, My Love! is out on December 2, two years after his last album, Because, the Internet, was released.

Now back to “Me and Your Mama”, this grand, funky thing at the intersection of Anderson .Paak’s Malibu and Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp a Butterfly sessions, which is actually not the joke the title may suggest. It’s an explosive, earnest opening track for an album that sounds like a statement. Exclamation points in album titles are rarely harbingers of inert music, after all. Oh and that album cover! 

Listen below.

childish gambino awaken my love.jpg

Childish Gambino, Awaken, My Love!:

01 Me and Your Mama
02 Have Some Love
03 Boogieman
04 Zombies
05 Riot
06 Redbone
07 California
08 Terrified
09 Baby Boy
10 The Night Me and Your Mama Met
11 Stand Tall