D'Angelo surprise-releases Black Messiah, first album in 14 years

Stream or download Black Messiah now.
DAngelo Black Messiah

D'Angelo stunned on Sunday night when he surprise-released Black Messiah, his third album, and his first since 2000's landmark LP Voodoo. The 12-track effort is available on iTunes and it's streaming on the Spotify player below:

According to Pitchfork:

It revealed that Q-Tip and Kendra Foster (Funkadelic) contributed lyrics [to Black Messiah], while ?uestlove, bassist Pino Palladino, and drummer James Gadson play on it.

Check out the tracklist below, and a note explaining the album's title, taken from the lyrics pamphlet handing out at the Red Bull Music Academy-sponsored Black Messiah listening party in New York.

D'Angelo, Black Messiah:
01 Ain't That Easy
02 1000 Deaths
03 The Charade
04 Sugah Daddy
05 Really Love
06 Back in the Future (Part I)
07 Till It's Done (Tutu)
08 Prayer
09 Betray My Heart
10 The Door
11 Back in the Future (Part II)
12 Another Life