Future Islands announce new LP The Far Field, Hear New Song "Ran"

The new album arrives in April
Publish date:
Future Islands

On April 7, Future Islands will release their new album, The Far Field. It is their first album since 2014’s Singles. 2014 was something of a breakthrough for the 11-year-old synthpop band: a passionate, goofy Letterman performance of their single “Seasons (Waiting on You)” went viral, introducing millions of people to the band’s brand of honest, open-hearted longing. 

The Far Field is something of their celebrity album. It was recorded in Los Angeles at Sunset Sound, where the Beach Boys and Prince have recorded. Blondie’s Debbie Harry even features in late-LP track “Shadows”. The album was produced with indie super-producer John Congleton (St. Vincent, David Byrne, Sleater-Kinney, Cloud Nothings) and will (finally!) feature live drums. You can listen to their efforts on first single “Ran”, streaming below.

Future Islands The Far Field album art

Future Island, The Far Field:

01 Aladdin
02 Time on Her Side
03 Ran
04 Beauty of the Road
05 Cave
06 Through the Roses
07 North Star
08 Ancient Water
09 Candles
10 Day Glow Fire
11 Shadows
12 Black Rose