Listen: Julian Casablancas + The Voidz - "Human Sadness"

Our first taste from the band's upcoming Tyranny is eleven minutes long.
julian casablancas and the voids

Obviously if you're going to write a song called "Human Sadness," it's going to have to be a big one. That's the title of our first taste of Julian Casablancas's new LP with his band the Voidz, Tyranny, and it clocks in at a round eleven minutes of wandering, noisy weirdness, with tons of intense, heavily distorted guitar pyrotechnics, a repetitive bassline, and plenty of howling vocal acrobatics from Julian himself. It's a fascinating listen, albeit a weird, exhausting, and eardrum-destroying one, but if you read this blog with any frequency you probably understand that from me, these are heartfelt compliments. Check it out - the whole LP, which you'll be able to pick up in the form of a USB shaped like a cigarette lighter, is out September 23rd. You can also peruse the tracklist below.

Julian Casablancas + The Voidz, Tyranny:
01 Take Me in Your Army
02 Crunch Punch
03 M.utually A.ssured D.estruction
04 Human Sadness
05 Where No Eagles Fly
06 Father Electricity
07 Johan Von Bronx
08 Business Dog
09 Xerox
10 Dare I Care
11 Nintendo Blood
12 Off to War...