M83 Share New Single "Do It, Try It"

Publish date:
m83 junk.jpg

As previously reported, M83 will release their new album Junk on April 8. Today on BBC Radio 1, Anthony Gonzales unveiled the album’s lead single, “Do It, Try It”. You can also see the album’s so-terrible-it’s-good? cover art above. The new single art (below) is especially awful. 

The album’s tracklist was also revealed—it’s 15 tracks long and features Beck and Sunsanne Sundfør. Of Junk, Anthony Gonzales said, “I want to show different sides of me on this album.” He continued, “I want to come back with something more intimate, yet somehow with…less me!”

He went on to explain the album’s curious title:

Anything we create today is going to end up being space junk at one point anyway, and I find it really fascinating and scary at the same time—beautiful too in a way. I have this image of pieces of humanity floating in space, lost forever. It also means that nowadays everything goes so fast and everybody is kind of throwing away art in a certain manner. People will listen to an album for instance and just pick a track they like to put on a playlist. They're not going to take the time to listen to an album anymore because they have to jump on the next thing.

Listen to “Do It, Try It” and then slap it on a playlist: 

M83, Junk:

01 Do It, Try It
02 Go! [ft. Mai Lan]
03 Walkway Blues [ft. Jordan Lawlor]
04 Bibi the Dog [ft. Mai Lan]
05 Moon Crystal
06 For the Kids [ft. Susanne Sundfør]
07 Solitude
08 The Wizard
09 Laser Gun [ft. Mai Lan]
10 Road Blaster
11 Tension
12 Atlantique Sud [ft. Mai Lan]
13 Time Wind [ft. Beck]
14 Ludivine
15 Sunday Night 1987