Hear Unreleased Neutral Milk Hotel, Huge Box Set Announced


Jeff Mangum has brought the otherwise defunct Neutral Milk Hotel back to the spotlight over the last few months, embarking on his first solo tour in over a decade since the band disbanded in 1998, and performing acoustic renditions of the band's repertoire. Thanks to their widely adored sophomore record In the Aeroplane Over The Sea, Neutral Milk Hotel have built quite the tightly knit cult following since then, a following of hardline fans who have been nothing if not content once they discovered that Mangum is releasing a boxed set of previously unreleased NMH material.

The set will contain fifteen 'new' songs as well as the group's discography, two posters and even a drawing by Mangum himself. Two of these new tunes (“Oh Sister,” Ferris Wheel”) have made their way online since Mangum's announcement, and there is now an alternate version of In the Aeroplane Over The Sea classic “Engine” streaming at the band's website. Pre order the new boxed set there as well; it comes out physically on November 22nd.

Listen to "Oh Sister" from the box set, below:

Neutral Milk Hotel - "Oh Sister"

Neutral Milk Hotel Box Set Tracklist:
On Avery Island 12″
01. Song Against Sex
02. You’ve Passed
03. Someone Is Waiting
04. A Baby for Pree
05. Marching Theme
06. Where You’ll Find Me Now
07. Avery Island/April 1st
08. Gardenhead/Leave Me Alone
09. Three Peaches
10. Naomi
11. April 8th
12. Pree-Sisters Swallowing a Donkey’s Eye

In the Aeroplane over the Sea 12″
01. The King of Carrot Flowers Pt 1
02. The King of Carrot Flowers Pts 2 & 3
03. In the Aeroplane Over the Sea
04. Two-Headed Boy
05. The Fool
06. Holland, 1945
07. Communist Daughter
08. Oh Comely
09. Ghost
10. Untitled
11. Two-Headed Boy Pt. 2

Everything Is 10″
Side A
01. Everything Is
02. Here We Are (for W. Cullen Hart)
03. Unborn
Side B
04. Tuesday Moon
05. Ruby Bulbs
06. Snow Song, Pt. 1
07. Aunt Eggma Blowtorch

Ferris Wheel on Fire 10″
Side A
01. Oh Sister
02. Ferris Wheel on Fire
03. Home
04. April 8th
Side B
05. I Will Bury You In Time
06. Engine
07. A Baby For Pree/Glow Into You
08. My Dream Girl Don’t Exist

Holland, 1945 7″
Side A
01. Holland, 1945
Side B
02. Engine

You’ve Passed/Where You’ll Find Me Now 7″
Side A
01. You’ve Passed
Side B
02. Where You’ll Find Me Now

Little Birds 7″
Side A
01. Little Birds (studio)
Side B
02. Little Birds (live)