New Hercules and Love Affair - "Release Me"


Hercules and Love Affair may have wasted a lot of the good will they earned from their fantastic 2008 self-titled debut with last year's forgettable Blue Songs, but Andy Butler and company are returning in a relatively small way with their upcoming DJ-KiCKS compilation. As tradition dictates, artists contributing to !K7's DJ-KiCKS generally put in one original, new song to add press-worthy weight to the project. Hercules and Love Affair's obligatory new cut is called "Release Me," and while it's certainly no "Blind," it had no trouble ear-worming its way to our brain.

Andy Butler explains:

I wrote this song with my friend DJ Whitney Fierce. She is a great dj, and very knowledgable about dance music from many cultures. She also rocks food coloring for hair dye, which makes her very tasty in my book because it makes me think of Mink Stole, a great actress from Baltimore in some of John Water's films. This song lies somewhere between Stock Aitken and Waterman and Manchester's Hacienda sound, while Whitney sounds very Bananarama on it. Mark Pistel busted out his E- Max on this recording with some original samples he compiled in 91, so that made us all dance in the studio. - Andy Butler


Hercules and Love Affair'sDJ-Kicks is out November 13. Here is the tracklist:

1. Mankind - Don't Keep Me Waiting
2. Rhythm Mode:D - Can You Feel It (Reach To The Top)
3. Hercules And Love Affair - Release Me (DJ-Kicks)
4. Fax Yourself - Strut Your Techno Stuff
5. Klubb Kidz - Don't Want To Hurt You (Skool Flava Dub)
6. Solution - Feels So Right
7. DJ Duke Presents Freedom - Love Don't Come Easy (Power Dub)
8. Cloud 9 - Do You Want Me
9. Mark Imperial - The Acieed That Ate New York
10. In Flagranti - Magojiro
11. Haze Factory - A Bit of Redemption *
12. Fierce Ruling Diva - Allemaal, Allemaal!
13. Jump Chico Slamm - Feel Free
14. Z.A.M. - Africa Freedom (Johannesburg Dub Mix)