New Music: Toro y Moi, The xx, Liars, Mogwai, Damon Albarn & more

Publish date:

First thing’s first: Public Enemy released a new album today called Nothing is Quick in the Desert. Chuck D says, “After 30 years, 106 tours across 105 countries and countless records, THANK YOU! This one is on Public Enemy. Get it while it’s free.” The album was originally set to drop on July 4, Independence Day.

Toro y Moi has a new album called Boo Boo out on July 7. Here is a new song/video, “You and I”. 

The xx have shared a new video for I See You highlight “I Dare You” and the thing is stacked with teenaged talent. Stranger Things breakout Millie Bobbie Brown, (daughter of Michael) Paris Jackson, and Moonlight’s expressive Ashton Sanders star.

Liars have announced a new album, TFCF (that stands for “Theme From Crying Fountain”), their first since 2014’s Mess and since founding member Aaron Hemphill left the band. You can check out the album’s first single, “Cred Woes” above, featuring the album’s absurd album art. 

TFCF by Liars:
01 The Grand Delusional
02 Cliché Suite
03 Staring At Zero
04 No Help Pamphlet
05 Face to Face With My Face
06 Emblems of Another Story
07 No Tree No Branch
08 Cred Woes
09 Coins in My Caged Fist
10 Ripe Ripe Rot
11 Crying Fountain

Mogwai has shared another track from their forthcoming LP, Every Country’s Sun. The album is due out September 1. 

Blur and Gorillaz frontman Damon Albarn appears on “Blu”, the new single from UK producer Mura Masa. His self-titled debut album is out July 14 and will also feature Charli XCX, ASAP Rocky, Desiigner, A. K. Paul, Nao, Christine and the Queens, and others. 

Matthew Dear is back with new music, his first stuff since 2012’s Beams. “Modafinil Blues” was recorded in Topanga Canyon with Frank Ocean collaborator Troy Nōka.

Samantha Urbani may not have the longest resume but “1 2 3 4” is nearly perfect, so any new music from the former Friends frontwoman is worth noting. Here’s her new single, “Go Deeper”, from her upcoming debut EP, Policies of Power