New: Spoon - "Rent I Pay"

spoon they want my soul

Here's Spoon's long-awaited "R.I.P." - "Rent I Pay," the lead single and first track on the band's upcoming eighth studio album They Want My Soul, which has easily usurped all its competitors to be our most-anticipated record of 2014 (that's its cover art above). The band premiered the track via a live performance on NPR this weekend, but you can hear a studio version now, too - via an "unofficial" video that sees Britt Daniel doing some of his singular guitar moves in silhouette. It's a fantastic song, showing off the band's one-of-a-kind knack for minimal, effective rhythms. Check out the tracklist, the video, and the live performance below while you wait for the whole album - you'll be able to grab it in a record store starting August 5th.

Spoon, They Want My Soul:
01 Rent I Pay
02 Inside Out
03 Rainy Taxi
04 Do You
05 Knock Knock Knock
06 Outlier
07 They Want My Soul
08 I Just Don't Understand
09 Let Me Be Mine
10 New York Kiss

"Unofficial" Video:

NPR live premiere: