The Killers + M83 - "Shot at the Night"


As reported, American rawk stalwarts The Killers and French synthpop auteur M83 came together for a track called "Shot at the Night" to celebrate the band's 10th year anniversary. The carries Brandon Flowers' signature super earnest delivery, though for a song with such a respected arbiter of anthem-sized synth-driven tunes for a producer, "Shot at the Night" is sadly not much a departure for a band who has delved in synth exercises in the past. That's not to say this tune drags its feet the way most of the Killers' last album, Battle Born did. No, sir.

The track will be included in the band's recently announced singles retrospective, Direct Hits, and you can listen to it below ahead of its iTunes release tomorrow. The compilation will be out November 11.

Direct Hits:

01 Mr Brightside
02 Somebody Told Me
03 Smile Like You Mean It
04 All These Things That I’ve Done
05 When You Were Young
06 Read My Mind
07 For Reasons Unknown
08 Human
09 Spaceman
10 A Dustland Fairytale
11 Runaways
12 Miss Atomic Bomb
13 The Way It Was
14 Shot At the Night
15 Just Another Girl
16 Mr. Brightside (Original Demo) *
17 When You Were Young (Calvin Harris Remix) *
18 Be Still *

* Deluxe version only