TV on the Radio - "Mercy"

12 Jacket (Gatefold - One Pocket) [GDOB2-30CH-001]

TV on the Radio is one of the best bands working right now, so we're more than a little psyched that they just released a new song out of the blue. This new cut is called "Mercy," and it goes harder than anything we've heard from them lately - you'll probably have to dig as far back as their 2006 masterpiece, Return To Cookie Mountain to find something this loud from TVOTR.

The new track marks the band's return, after about a year or two of touring. It's not only their first piece of new music since 2011's Nine Types of Light, it's also the first release from the band since parting ways with their longtime parters, major label Interscope. Their new material is being released through Federal Prism, a burgeoning label ran by TVOTR band member and producer David Sitek.

Speaking to Huffington Post frontman Kyp Malone said he “couldn’t be more excited to be getting back into it, all together." "The new songs ‘Mercy’ and ‘Million Miles’ came to fruition with such ease that it felt like an invitation to get back to this good work.”

The band and Federal Prism are also fans of SoundCloud and are planning to fully integrate the music sharing community into their music making and releasing strategy.

“Federal Prism stands by the notion that SoundCloud represents one of the most organic and well executed platforms for artists and listeners to interact,” Sitek said. “This is especially true for all of us who are serious about the creation and sustainability of music. In our minds, this goes beyond marketing or even a sales strategy… to the basic and inspiring impetus of music making.”

So, prepare yourself for a SoundCloud onslaught from Federal Prism - new music from TV on the Radio, Oh Land, CSS, Chuck Inglish, Telepathe, Cerebral Ballzy and Asher Roth should be uploaded soon.