Joanna Newsom Announces New LP 'Divers'

Watch the Paul Thomas Anderson-directed video for "Sapokanikan"
Publish date:
Joanna Newsom.jpg

Joanna Newsom has finally announced her follow-up to 2010’s Have One On Me! The new album, due out in October, is called Divers. It includes 11 new songs, and according to its press release, the LP features arrangements from Newsom, Nico Muhly, Dirty Projectors’ Dave Longstreth, and Ryan Francesconi. Steve Albini and Noah Georgeson served as producers. 

Below you can watch the Paul Thomas Anderson-directed video for the album’s gorgeous first single, “Sapokanikan”. (Newsom’s “earth goddess” character narrated Anderson’s 2014 film, Inherent Vice.) 

JoannaNewsom Divers.jpg

Joanna Newsom, Divers:

01 Anecdotes
02 Sapokanikan
03 Leaving the City
04 Goose Eggs
05 Waltz of the 101st Lightborne
06 The Things I Say
07 Divers
08 Same Old Man
09 You Will Not Take My Heart Alive
10 A Pin-Light Bent
11 Time, As a Symptom